The Girl on the Train (2016)

cover_detail.jpg

Starring: Emily Blunt, Justin Theroux, Haley Bennett, Rebecca Ferguson, Luke Evans, Edgar Ramirez, Laura Prepon, Allison Janney

Plot: A divorcee spiraling through depression and alcoholism finds an infatuation with her ex-husband’s life.

Rating: 7/10

Overall: I think this film ended up being a bit different than I originally had anticipated it to be. I wasn’t disappointed, per se, but I definitely had higher expectations than I probably should have. However, with that being said and without giving any spoilers, I’d have to say that to some extent, the film had a decent “twist” to it. I think my biggest critique is the sequence of the storyline. I found it very confusing trying to keep track of everybody and the fact that the wife (Ferguson) and the nanny (Bennett) look similar in more ways than not, it was difficult to remember who was who. If the film followed a different timeline and offered a little more backstory, I think the film would’ve been much stronger. I understand trying to have that “suspense” factor, but I think there are plenty of ways to go about it, and this way just didn’t work. I think there’s too many flashbacks and snippets of Rachel’s (Blunt) blackouts that it’s difficult to comprehend and make it a cohesive story. Maybe that was the point – but again, it just didn’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

