Jem and the Holograms (2015)

Jem_Movie_Teaser_Poster.png

Starring: Aubrey Peeples, Stephanie Scott, Aurora Perrineau, Hayley Kiyoko, Molly Ringwald, Barnaby Carpenter, Juliette Lewis, Ryan Guzman

Plot: After a candid video goes viral, Jerrica “Jem” Benton and her three sisters are thrown into the world of fame, but are also on the journey to both self-discovery and a “treasure hunt” for things her father left behind.

Rating: 9/10

Overall: Okay, the acting is mediocre, but I think I really liked this film for the music. That might be my inner 90s speaking out, but I seriously loved this film. I can’t believe that it failed so terribly! Honestly, I was reading what the critics were saying about it…and then it hit me that this film was based off of a pre-existing animated TV series that I knew nothing about! I guess fans and critics who loved the animated series hated the film because it didn’t follow any of the plot. The director even said that he still receives hate mail and death threats because of the film’s faceplant into failure. HOWEVER, I LOVED it! I don’t care what anybody says. If you can get past the acting, the music and the father’s escapade he leaves behind makes up for it (in my opinion, obviously). I suppose if you like the animated series and aren’t a pop fan, you probably won’t like this film and agree with all the critics. BUT if you’re like me and a sucker for pop music, I think you’ll truly enjoy this film.

Leave a Reply

