Suicide Squad (2016)

hqdefault.jpg

Starring: Will Smith, Margot Robbie, Jared Leto, Jay Hernandez, Jai Courtney, Adewale Akinnouye-Agbaje, Cara Delevingne, Viola Davis, Joel Kinnaman

Plot: A secret government agency recruits a group of imprisoned supervillains to execute dangerous black ops missions in exchange for clemency, which inevitably leads to chaos (IMDB.com).

Rating: 9/10

Overall: Great film. I think overall, it lived up to the hype. The major complaint I had was the poorly constructed sequence of events and character development. For me, it was frustrating to be expecting a majority of the film to have the Joker, but only to find that it was majorly Deadshot + Harley Quinn take on The Enchantress. All the other characters seemingly have very limited roles within the film, including the Joker! I think that’s the most upsetting and frustrating thing about this film. However, there’s still great action scenes and lots of good humor throughout. I think had the film had a different premise (and I’m sorry if this goes against the comic books, but I’m also speaking from solely a film aspect) for the plot, I think the film would’ve done a lot better with the character development and stronger plot/seeing more of the character’s true colors. It’s just utterly disappointing on that part. I wanted to know more about Killer Croc and I loved the story between Harley and the Joker – definitely wanted more of that. I also wanted to know more about the non-superhero/villains…like Rick Flag’s story and why Amanda Waller is the way that she is.

Leave a Reply

