How to Be Single (2016)

MV5BNzI4MDMwMzUwNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDgyNzkyNzE@._V1_UY1200_CR90,0,630,1200_AL_

Starring: Rebel Wilson, Dakota Johnson, Leslie Mann, Damon Wayans Jr., Anders Holm, Alison Brie, Nicholas Braun, Jake Lacy

Plot: This film follows several characters in all points of life and love, and from all walks of life. It takes place in NYC where there are plenty of people searching for love…or just a friendly hook-up. The one thing that connects them all is that they’re all trying to figure out is how to be single.

Rating: 9/10

Overall: I was surprisingly pleased with this film. It was sort of hit or miss, but I think this was more of the “hit” side to me. My only real complaint is the dialogue. It was absolutely horrible! Like 90% of the interactions that took place were so unrealistic to me. I understand that the dialogue was probably suited for their respective characters, but it just seemed so painful to watch. So my solution is to either not have them interact with certain characters or develop the storyline better to fit the dialogue. For example, I hated the dynamic between Josh and Alice. It was so bizarre to me – mostly Josh’s character (though I suppose realistically, some men are actually like that). But still! I think the only likeable characters were Robin (Wilson) and the relationship between Meg (Mann) and Ken (Lacy). That’s just my opinion, but I felt like they worked. I feel like Rebel Wilson can kill just about any comedic role. I thought Dakota Johnson did really well…when she wasn’t interacting with the men in the film. Whoever wrote this, did an absolute terrible job. Any writer can make a phenomenal actor/actress look amateur….which is EXACTLY what happened here. That’s the ONLY reason why I gave it a 9.

Leave a Reply

