X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)

X-Men_Apocalype_UK_Poster

Starring: Rose Byrne, Jennifer Lawrence, Michael Fassbender, James McAvoy, Nicholas Hoult, Oscar Isaac, Evan Peters, Sophie Turner, Tye Sheridan, Lucas Till, Kodi Smit-McPhee, Ben Hardy, Alexandra Shipp, Olivia Munn

Plot: With the awakening of the world’s first mutant, Apocalypse, the X-Men must unite to defeat his extinction level plan (IMDB.com).

Rating: 8/10

Overall: Overall, I thought it was a pretty great film. I was a little hesitant and it’s definitely been a while since I’ve watched First Class. Altogether though, I think they brought the character development together nicely. One complaint I have is that this film almost seems like it needed to come before Days of Future Past – or at minimum, some parts of this installment would’ve worked better being implemented in Days of Future Past (in my opinion) because they just seem out of place. I really liked that they brought in Nightcrawler. I think we could’ve done without the Wolverine part – not to say that he’s not important by any means, but it was one of the scenes that I felt was unnecessary/out of place. I think my favorite part was the snippets of Jean, especially at the end – because for me, it connected everything that led up to The Last Stand and truly encompassed the full potency of Jean’s powers. Maybe it’s  just me, but I feel like Jean is a very underrated character. My other complaint is the unrealistic strength of Apocalypse and the unrealistic way the X-Men battle him. Just my opinion. (Sort of about to touch on a SPOILER) It just seems that between Charles and Jean, they’d be able to defeat him a lot quicker.

2 thoughts on “X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)

Leave a Reply

