The Green Inferno (2013)

the-green-inferno-poster1.jpg

Starring: Lorenza Izzo, Ariel Levy, Daryl Sabara, Kirby Bliss Blanton, Magda Apanowicz, Sky Ferreira, Nicolas Martinez, Aaron Burns, Ignacia Allamand

Plot: A group of young activists go to the Amazonian forest in an attempt to slow or stop the demolition, which would eliminate an ancient tribal community that inhabits the area. On their way home, their small plane crashes. They soon find out that the tribe they were trying to protect still actively partakes in cannibalism.

Rating: 3/10

Overall: Gore, gore, gore. I don’t know who does it better, Eli Roth or Rob Zombie… but putting the gore – and yes, it’s just as bad as it sounds; yes, believe everything you hear about this film – aside, it wasn’t all that great of a film. There were a lot of shortcomings. First, I know you have to develop the story, but it takes them FOREVER to even get to the forest and for anything climatic to happen. Second, it was really hard sympathizing with any characters. I found the main female lead to be unlikeable. Third, there were a lot of parts I found rather unbelievable. I don’t want to put any spoilers in this film, but though I rate it as a 3 and if your curiosity is peaked enough (or you’re disturbed enough), I still recommend this film. It’s one of those films you watch out of pure curiosity (at least for me that’s what it was). OH! And I almost forgot: they left it open-ended in case they wanted to make a sequel. Smart, but I’m hoping they don’t.

Leave a Reply

