Unfriended (2015)

Unfriended

Starring: Heather Sossaman, Matthew Bohrer, Courtney Halverson, Shelley Hennig, Moses Storm, Will Peltz, Renee Olstead, Jacob Wysocki

Plot: A group of online chat room friends find themselves haunted by a mysterious, supernatural force using the account of their dead friend (IMDB.com).

Rating: 1/10

Overall: I rented this movie because in 2013, I took a creative fiction writing workshop. During this course, we were brainstorming a writing exercise where we take one-sentence scenarios and make a short (or longer) story out of it. We usually wrote for 10-15 minutes and then shared where we went with the story. One of the topics/sentences was the hypothetical resurfacing of a deceased person through social media (Facebook specifically). So when this movie was released, I found it profoundly ironic and needed to see what approach they took. I was by no means expecting it to be a “good film” –and as you can see by my rating it succeeded in failing. There were absolutely no likeable characters. Sure, that might be the point with the whole anti-bullying theme it had stamped throughout the entire film—and to me, was trying to make it more subtle than it needed to be (since the whole film was based around a teen suicide resulting from bullying). I’m also not quite sure I understood the ending of the film. I don’t want to include spoilers, but the foreshadowing and subtlety of “paranormal” or “demonic/possession” hints, I was confused what the ending truly was. Terrible acting. Terrible directing/script production—there’s no real way to instill fear into someone via internet/skype/chat room, etc. (in my opinion).

Leave a Reply

