Nightcrawler (2014)

Nightcrawler

Starring: Jake Gyllenhaal, Rene Russo, Riz Ahmed

Plot: Trying to make ends meet while living in LA, Lou launches himself into the world of crime journalism. Somewhere in the world of news, crime and career, Lou begins to “blur the line between observer and participant” (IMDB.com).

Rating: 7/10

Overall: This was a slow moving film. It wasn’t necessarily painfully slow, and there were definitely some good action scenes, but it took timeet to those points in the film. I think the complexity of the entire film comes from the character of Lou. I couldn’t tell if he actually suffered from autism (like Asperger’s), or if he was just a very intricately, deeply disturbed character. I can’t say that I was fond of the plot, but it also made me question, “Do people actually do this out in that area?!” There were also a few parts that made me roll my eyes and go, “Yeah, right!” There were absurd things, like he’d be at a crime scene and touch all the stuff, yet never be caught or questioned for it. Overall, I gave it a 7 for technicalities and a boring plot. Also, I’m not a huge fan of Jake Gyllenhaal, but this performance was superb. Hit the nail on “creeper.”

Leave a Reply

