The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 (2014)

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay

Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Elizabeth Banks, Woody Harrelson, Liam Hemsworth, Donald Sutherland, Phillip Seymour Hoffman

Plot: After her rescue from Quarter Quell, Katniss finds sanctuary in District 13 [previously believed to have been destroyed by the Capital]. An uprising against the Capital is being formed amongst the remaining Districts and Katniss is placed as the “face” of revolution, hope and change for the people [referred to as “the Mockingjay”].

Rating: 7/10

Overall: Honestly, the first of the series is the best of this trilogy. I was extremely disappointed with the second one, and while I’ll admit that I didn’t read the books, this has just been rather a boring trilogy. I’m not saying it’s awful or that the film is a flop. There are definitely some admirable things about it. However, as a whole, I think it isn’t successful [as a film at least]. Mockingjay Part 1 was much better than Catching Fire, but I think my biggest issue with this film [and where I think the film crumbles] is the character of Katniss. I realize that it might not necessarily be in her demeanor to be perceived as a “hero,” per se, but at the same time, her whining throughout the second and third segments of the films is rather annoying and makes me perceive her as a “weak” character, which she clearly is not. It’s just frustrating I guess as a viewer to know that though her reactions are “normal” for the given circumstances, but at the same time, for her not to “reach that reality” that nothing about this situation IS normal is aggravating. Great cast, nothing against them at all. I just think there could’ve been a better way to go about this and that specific details from the book needed to be incorporated into the film to make it stronger (according to the people I talked to who have read the books).

Leave a Reply

