The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

1-29-Official-“The-Fault-in-Our-Stars”-Movie-Trailer

Starring: Shailene Woodley, Ansel Elgort, Nat Wolff, Laura Dern, Sam Trammell, William Dafoe

Plot: Two teens meet at a cancer support group, and in unlikely circumstances fall madly in love. Film adaptation of John Green’s YA novel. [Worst synopsis I’ve ever written, but it’s the simplest way I could write the plot in my own words]

Rating: 9/10

Overall: First, I have to admit this is the first time that I’ve actually read a book before the film. Second, the book is phenomenal [with the exception that I wasn’t satisfied with the ending,  but that’s just me]. Third, I cried the last five chapters of the book. With all of that being said…I was pleased with how true the filmmakers stuck to the book. The reason I gave it a 9 instead of 10, was on the complaint that: 1) some of the scenes I felt took away from the book…they were either portrayed differently [at least from what I had envisioned them to be like], and 2) some of the scenes were cut from the film, which I felt would’ve added more emotional depth to it [much like the book did]. I realize the film was over two hours long, but I don’t think sacrificing the emotional depth for the sake of numb a**es and fewer tears was worth it to me. An incredible novel beyond words to praise or explain it, decent film…overall: I was satisfied.

Leave a Reply

