Kill Your Darlings (2013)

72b9b829725f0e825a3124d6e1bf096d[1]

Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Elizabeth Olsen, Dane DeHaan, Jack Huston

Plot: A murder in 1944 draws together the great poets of the beat generation: Allen Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac and William Burroughs. (imdb.com)

Rating: 1/10

Overall: So…the screenwriter, Austin Bunn, was a professor at Grand Valley State University—where I am an alum. I’ve heard many beautiful things about Professor Bunn and thought it was amazing that he was able to create this film. While I still hold Austin Bunn’s credentials with high praise (despite never meeting the man or taking a class with him), I did not enjoy this film. It was very…strange, slow and I just didn’t find it as intriguing as I hoped. I couldn’t finish it either, to be completely honest. I feel like if I read the script or the story, I’d be impressed. Perhaps Bunn’s style just isn’t the kind I like. Who knows?

Leave a Reply

