TV Talk

**Quick disclaimer: I do NOT have cable, so I do not watch these shows regularly (usually binge watch through Netflix or Hulu)…I am also not keen on popular shows like Modern Family or Breaking Bad. Don’t try to convince me on them, just leave it as it is.**

New and Hot Shows

Bates Motel
2013-present (2 Seasons)
[Freddie Highmore, Max Thieriot, Vera Farmiga, Olivia Cooke] on A&E

To me, this show is so weird, not because of the plot or anything, but the setting! It’s just fascinating that it revolves around the Motel, yet it has the perfect essence of “small town” effects. It’s great. It’s eery, funny and just mysterious enough to not be predictable.

Hannibal
2013-present (2 Seasons)
[Hugh Dancy, Laurence Fishburne, Mads Mikkelsen, Hettienne Park, Caroline Dhavernas] on NBC

I love this show. I have a morbidly dark mind, and this show truly satisfies that darkness and desire for morbidity. It’s the cringe-worthy morbid that makes you squirm and jump.

The Walking Dead
2010-present (5 Seasons)
[Andrew Lincoln, Steven Yeun, Chandler Riggs, Norman Reedus, Melissa McBride] on AMC

Honestly, I’m not a fan of the “zombie movement.” I’m based in reality and zombies fall into science fiction for me. BUT, I love films like 28 Days Later, so I decided to give it a shot. While I have yet to catch up on Season 4, this show is quite fascinating. There are parts that are kind of lame or unnecessary, but overall, I think it’s a solid TV series based on something I think can be difficult to continue for as long as The Walking Dead has.

American Horror Story
2011-present (4 Seasons)
[Jessica Lange, Evan Peters, Lily Rabe, Frances Conroy, Sarah Paulson, Taissa Farmiga] on FX

I think this show has the same effect as Hannibal. It’s so creepy, addicting and morbidly fulfilling. The first season was hard for me to grasp, perhaps it’s not exactly my kind of horror. Asylum (Season 2) was my favorite, but I have a weird infatuation with mental illness and asylums. So it was a perfect satisfaction. Coven (Season 3), I was very hesitant about, but was pleasantly surprised. This show truly does an amazing job at captivating a focused fear and bringing it alive through what seems like “novellas” in a TV series. I’m stoked to see Freak Show (Season 4) for the pure fact that I’m terrified of clowns and carnivals.

Older Shows

Criminal Minds
2005-present (9 Seasons)
[Thomas Gibson, Shemar Moore, Matthew Gray Gubler, Joe Mantegna, AJ Cook, Paget Brewster, Kirsten Vangsness] on ABC/CBS

These kinds of shows intrigue me. It’s sort of interesting to step into the mind of a killer [essentially] to solve a crime. It’s dark and in some ways morbid, but it’s the kind of show that allows you to develop a connection to its characters through building a “history” throughout the seasons. It’s fascinating to see how the team comes together and operates, especially given some of the team’s pasts.

House M.D.
2004-2012 (8 Seasons)
[Hugh Laurie, Lisa Edelstein, Robert Sean Leonard, Omar Epps, Jesse Spencer, Jennifer Morrison] on NBC

An exceptional alternative to ER. It’s not the same, but it quells my medical infatuation that is hard to find in any other medical show these days.

The Big Bang Theory
2007-present (10 Seasons)
[Johnny Galecki, Jim Parsons, Kaley Cuoco, Simon Helberg, Kunal Nayyar] on CBS

This show is hilarious. Sheldon (Parsons) is my favorite because in a way, he reminds me of my brother (who also claims, “I don’t understand why you think Sheldon is anything like me!”). He has that dry sense of humor and is incredibly intelligent. If anything I think of Sheldon and Leonard’s friendship much like my brother and his wife’s relationship. I realize that I said my brother reminds me of Sheldon, but if you put my brother and his wife into a heated scientific “discussion,” she would be Sheldon and my brother would be Leonard. I just love it. It’s my guilty pleasure.

No Longer Airing Shows

8 Simple Rules (2002-2005) – 3 Seasons
Such a funny show and feel as if it’s a nice tribute to John Ritter. Sad that he passed and I don’t think the show would be the same without him, but this drama-edy sitcom was the best! Introduced me to Kaley Cuoco!

Joan of Arcadia (2003-2005) – 2 Seasons
A show that followed a teenage girl who can talk to God. It was a really awesome show that was funny, down to earth and quite philosophical to an extent. Wish they’d bring it back or at least play reruns.

Friends (1994-2004) – 10 Seasons
Holy shit. It just hit me that it has been ten years since the last season! WOW! I don’t think I even need to explain this one…it’s a classic. If there were a reunion, I’d watch it in a heartbeat. No doubt.

ER (1994-2009) – 15 Seasons
GAH! I honestly hate Grey’s Anatomy. There is absolutely no comparison to ER. It was a realistic show based in a Chicago ER, that brought the realities of ER doctors and staff, situations and relationships to life. It was exciting, emotional and nail-biting, always had you at the edge of your seat. I wish so badly that it never ended. House is an exceptional alternative, but the characters are not as likeable as ER’s. And I will NEVER watch Grey’s Anatomy. I watched one episode (which was the pilot) and I said to myself, “I’m not watching this. It’s not the same.”

Leave a Reply

