Films I Couldn’t Finish

The Counselor (2013)

the counselor
Starring: Penelope Cruz, Javier Bardem, Cameron Diaz, Michael Fassbender

Plot: A lawyer finds himself in over his head when he gets involved in drug trafficking. (imdb.com)

Rating: 1/10

Overall: Honestly, I turned this off after about a half hour. My rule of thumb is this: if you can’t capture my attention after a half hour, then why should I torture myself through the next hour, hour and a half? Characters are boring and predictable, and the plot is just dry.

 

About Time (2013)

about time
Sarring: Bill Nighy, Rachel McAdams, Domhnall Gleeson, Lydia Wilson

Plot: At the age of 21, Tim discovers he can travel in time and change what happens and has happened in his own life. His decision to make his world a better place by getting a girlfriend turns out not to be as easy as you might think. (imdb.com)

Rating: 1/10

Overall: Utterly disappointed with this film, especially being a HUGE fan of Rachel McAdams. There are some sweet parts and some funny parts, but overall, it was just BORING. It was like watching Time Traveler’s Wife but with less “interesting” conflicts. The plot was confusing, boring and just…I don’t know the word for it. I didn’t even finish the film. It became background noise after about 45 minutes.

 

The Wolf of Wall Street (2013)

imgres
Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Jonah Hill, Matthew McConaughey

Plot: Based on the true story of Jordan Belfort, from his rise to a wealthy stock-broker living the high life to his fall involving crime, corruption and the federal government. (imdb.com)

Rating: 1/10

Overall: Perhaps it’s just not my “taste” in film, but Matthew McConaughey’s character just weirded me out. AND this had to be one of THE most boring films I’ve ever watched. Like I said, perhaps it’s just not my “taste,” but I hated this film. If I could give it a 0, I would. I also feel like Leo has lost his touch, honestly. His “most recent” film that I enjoyed was Inception…which was in 2010! MAYBE I could debate The Great Gatsby—but even then, I didn’t like the film itself, just his role in it!

Leave a Reply

