Evil Dead (2013)

images

Starring: Shiloh Fernandez, Jane Levy, Lou Taylor Pucci, Jessica Lucas, Elizabeth Blackmore

Plot: A group of five friends become trapped in a remote cabin in the woods, where a Book of Evil is opened. The evil comes to life through the possession of the five youngsters.

Rating: 3/10

Overall: I had never even heard of this film. I knew it was remake of an original, but that’s about it. I have not seen the original so I can’t compare it. All I can say is that this plot was by far the most cliché plot of horror films. It reminded me of Cabin in the Woods (2013), except with a weak backbone to the story (the whole, “don’t read the book,” and the one idiot reads the book). Yeah, so that was kind of disappointing, but I guess in this day and age of horror films, I wouldn’t expect anything less. I will admit though, the make up and effects were pretty awesome. I’m huge into the gory, slasher horror films, and this one definitely fulfills that.  I think that’s the only way I gave this film a 3 instead of a 1.

Leave a Reply

