World War Z (2013)

World_War_Z_Poster_3_24_13

Starring: Brad Pitt, Mireille Enos, Daniella Kertesz, Fana Mokoena, Sterling Jerins, Abigail Hargrove

Plot: A zombie pandemic is spreading throughout the US, and Gerry Lane (Pitt) and his family are relocated with the UN, while Gerry goes to find answers. On his journey, he meets Sergen (Kertesz), an Israeli soldier. Together they search for a cure for the zombie pandemic.

Rating: 7/10

Overall: I was expecting this film to be a flop, but was surprisingly impressed with it. Though the ending felt like a cop out, the development of the zombies was exceptionally well done! This film in the entirety felt like a cross between I Am Legend (2007) and 28 Days Later (2002). There were some parts that I thought could’ve been executed better (for example, the ending and the parts leading up to it). I think the ending of a film is the most important part because it is what ties the film together and the intention is to leave the viewer to have a reaction of some sort (usually one that draws an extreme emotion–in my opinion, at least). This film left me with the reaction of “ehhh,” and rather disappointed. I felt it was overly cliché and like I said before, a cop out. Other than that, it was a decent film. I think it’s definitely worth seeing (purchasing, not so much) and if you’re not into zombie movies–trust me, I despise zombie films. World War Z was decent though and I applaud them for making it worth seeing (minus the ending, of course).

Leave a Reply

