Best of Horror Films

Best Horror Films

  1. A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010)

So, I have debated whether I like the original 1984 film better, but I hate to say that I don’t. Here’s my dilemma: I really loved Robert Englund as Freddy. He was the perfect character and really made Freddy the scary villain that he is. I remember watching the original film back in middle school and was terrified to go to sleep. However, the 2010 remake, I fell in love with Rooney Mara. I think she is one of the hottest starlets to be birthed into Hollywood (Seriously, have you seen Girl With The Dragon Tattoo? Or Side Effects? All her roles are impeccably well done and truly showcase her talent), I felt she brought the character of Nancy to a better perspective. She seemed like a stronger character. Aside from the characters, I have to admit that placing A Nightmare on Elm Street at number one is a little biased. Wes Craven is one of my biggest idols in screenwriting. I think he is absolutely brilliant and I definitely want a career like his.

2. The Sixth Sense (1999)

“I see dead people”—c’mon, that alone is the single best line of film history. And to think what kind of person comes up with that idea as a sixth sense in the first place is a genius. You think, “Okay, seeing dead people can’t be THAT scary, can it?” But the way that Haley Joel Osment brought that fear to the screen and injected it into the viewers is bone-chilling. Bruce Willis’ character always fascinated me as well.

3. Scream (1996)

Ok, I’ll admit, the acting is kind of lame and the plot itself is rather dull…but Scream is a classic so it automatically has a spot on my list of Best Horror Films. I can’t say I like where they’ve taken the series, and if I could write the fifth film, I’d totally make Sidney the killer. I have a lot of ideas regarding the fifth film.

4. Halloween (2007)

Rob Zombie is the shit. That is all.

5. The Collector (2009)

Creepiest idea, by far. It kind of makes me think of the writers of Hostel, The Human Centipede and all those truly fucked up horror films, and what kind of sick mind you must have to come up with sickly morbid films…yet they’re so incredibly amazing. That sounds strangely terrible, but I’m being completely honest. I actually thought of a way to write The Human Centipede 3 (I heard there’s a second one, but I haven’t seen it). Anyway, The Collector is quite refreshing and makes you think a lot about…stuff.

Best Horror Film Ideas

  1. The Purge

Best idea yet. I was so incredibly disappointed when I saw this film. I literally sat there shaking my head through the entire film. The idea is so brilliant…it’s a shame it went to waste. Hopefully in a few years, someone will remake it and fulfill the potential it had the first time around… *cough cough*

2. House at the End of the Street

A nice psychological thriller. However, it is one of those films that makes you suffer through a shitty hour and a half before you can appreciate it. Some people might like that, but for what it’s worth, I think the ending was a great twist…but not worth the wait. Jennifer Lawrence’s character made me sit there hoping she’d just die (in the film, obviously). Don’t get me wrong, I know that a majority of females in horror films are supposed to be stupid…but my gosh, I don’t think I’ve wanted a female lead to die as badly as I wanted her to in this film.

3.Cabin in the Woods

Again, great idea but thought it was absolutely horrid in execution. I think the best scene was when all the monsters were released and it was just a bloody massacre of everyone. I liked the basic premise for the film, and to be completely honest, I’m not even sure if it could’ve been executed better. Which is quite sad to think about…perhaps I’ll ponder it more, and if I come up with an idea I’ll make another post. Haha

4. Insidious

Kind of a cool idea. Personally, I’m not sure if I would’ve made it a horror film, per se. The ending was amazing, though.

On a side note…be sure to see the 2013 remake of Carrie on October 18! Watch the trailer here:

Leave a Reply

