Now You See Me (2013)

now_you_see_me_xlg

Starring: Jesse Eisenberg, Isla Fisher, Woody Harrelson, Dave Franco, and Mark Ruffalo

Plot: After a team of magicians/illusionists pull of huge money heists during their performances–giving the rewards to their audiences, an FBI agent (Ruffalo) and Interpol detective work together to find the truth behind their tricks.

Overall: 9/10

Review: I actually saw this twice in theaters. The first time was great, but I left a bit confused at the end. It’s definitely one of those films where you need to pay close attentions to every detail (which is fine for me because I love studying film–another reason why I watch them over and over again), but for the average movie-goer, I think it is a bit much to take in all at once. The second time around, I picked up on the subtle hints, specific lines and finally tied everything together. This film takes “magic” and makes something much more than “magical” of it. Sure, if you enjoy magic (not necessarily believe in it, but enjoy it as entertainment) it is worth the $8 something ticket. If you don’t like magic, I feel like it could persuade you to enjoy it as a form of entertainment.

One thought on “Now You See Me (2013)

  1. Pingback: Runner Runner (2013) | Movie Reviews & Discussion

Leave a Reply

